//
You're Reading...
Europe, News

The Youth Radar: Write For Us In 2014/15

First of all, what a great 2013/14 season in youth football and on The Youth Radar.

England triumphed in the European Under 17 Championship, the Barclays U18 Premier League and U21 Premier League provided gripping entertainment throughout and The Youth Radar’s selection of European leagues didn’t disappoint in their outcomes.

I originally started The Youth Radar in January 2011 as a place to practise journalism and enhance my chances of getting into my top-choice university – Bournemouth. Three years of studying Multimedia Journalism has now passed and after countless work placements, two national awards and recognition in the Guardian Student Media Awards for work on The Youth Radar, my time in education has come to a close and I have entered the working world.

I am delighted to let you all know that I have been appointed as an Audio Visual Assistant at Southampton Football Club.

This role is very time-consuming, therefore having an adverse effect on my commitment to The Youth Radar. However, I am proud of what The Youth Radar has achieved in terms of youth football content on the Internet and I am determined to continue that legacy with the help of you guys.

I am looking for aspiring writers to cover the Barclays U18 Premier League, Barclays U21 Premier League, Bundesliga U19, Campionato Nazionale Primavera and Championnat Nationale U19 as well as various writers to cover specific tournaments such as the FIFA U20 World Cup and European Championships.

Most of these competitions happen over the weekends. BU18PL and Campionato Nazionale Primavera football takes place on Saturday mornings, so ideally articles are published Saturday evening. The rest of the leagues usually take place on a Sunday, so Monday morning is usually when articles are published. The BU21PL is very random, with matches usually taking place on Fridays and Mondays.

Why would you want to take up this challenge? First of all, your work would be read by thousands of people every day, with frequent commenters and discussions on the website. Secondly, the buzz for me last season (covering all leagues on my own) was knowing so much about such a niche subject, promoting it and the challenge of getting as many people as possible interested. It’s a very rewarding experience.

Anybody interested in writing about any of the aforementioned leagues or fancies contributing to the site on a less frequent scale should email bennett_6@btinternet.com with a CV/brief outline of your writing experience, what league you are interested in writing about and you will be contacted in due course.

About Tom Bennett

I'm a 21-year-old Multimedia Journalism student at Bournemouth University aspiring to be one of Britain's top sports journalists. Follow me on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn for contact and further information.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Monthly Archive